Texting and driving is now officially illegal across Florida.

You'll get a ticket if an officer spots you texting behind the wheel-- but they have to pull you over for something else.

FHP hopes the new law will help decrease the number of traffic crashes and fatalities. Some folks, however, say our new law is too weak. In addition to being a secondary offense, the ban allows drivers to text while stopped at a light or any other time the vehicle is not moving. Drivers can also use their smart phones for the talk to text function and you can send a text to report a crime or an emergency.

The fine is $30 for a first offense and law enforcement officers will not typically be allowed to confiscate your cell phone. The fine increases to $60 for the next offense.

Florida is now the 41st state in the nation to ban texting behind the wheel.

Photo: Thinkstock